Shopping for clothes …

When I was in grade 6 (age 11) I was wearing a women’s size 16. I remember very clearly my mum telling me that it was NOT a good thing for me to be that size. At one point I also remember both my parents telling me that if I could keep my weight stable, as I grew taller it would look better on me and I would “be ok”.

From that time I have only ever been able to shop for “big girl” sizes. And at some point I “outgrew” them too. For at least the last 20 years I have been unable to find any clothes in even the big girl stores. My second cousin’s wife made me some clothing in 1998 (ish) and for the next 8 years or so I wore the same 4 or 5 skirts, the same 4 or 5 tops. In the last 3 years or so I’ve had those replenished, with 7 or 8 ankle length skirts and shirts, primarily for work purposes.  I don’t dare wear anything shorter than ankle length, it becomes too revealing if I bend over or even sit down. I own no shorts/pants (heaven forbid!), nothing skimpy or revealing. My skirts are all A-line, no pencils or anything different, and all have elastic waists. All my tops are loos fitting. No belts, no waists. No shape.

I watch/listen to others talk about how they go shopping and buy whatever they want, pretty outfits. And their wardrobes are chock full. I have plenty of room in mine! I wear a clean outfit every day and I have enough to last no more than 6 days before I need to wash the lot. When I wash it’s 1 and a half loads and I’m done!

It is just incomprehensible to me to have any kind of choice. And when people say things like “I have nothing to wear” when they have a full wardrobe of perfectly good clothes that fit perfectly, I sometimes think to myself “you seriously have NO idea what it’s like to truly have nothing to wear!”

This program will be changing all that. I am really looking forward to the day I can walk into a store and buy something off the shelf. AND look good in it. 🙂

7 comments on “Shopping for clothes …

  1. Ali, i am certain that day will come for you when you can walk into a store and buy something “off the rack”…and i would love to be there with you when that day happens…

  2. Hi Ali, have just been reading the forums and came over here to check out your blog. I’m so inspired by you and am looking forward to hearing more about your journey. I just wanted to say hello and offer love and support and wish you well. You ROCK! And you are going to buy clothes off the rack and look AWESOME in them! I’m so excited for you.

    x

  3. Reading these replies Ali is simply awesome. I am completely blown away by the amount of support you are getting – and you, beautiful lady, deserve everybody bit of it. I, too, will be so proud of you when you can buy off the rack. YOU GO GIRL!

Leave a Reply

