Excuses …

One of the preseason tasks for the 12WBT is to write down all the excuses that you have allowed to rule your life. To stop you from becoming the best possibly version of you. And then to come up with a solution. So, refute them and turn them into non excuses.

I committed to doing some of the preseason tasks this weekend so here I go. And I start with the excuses.

I’m too busy. This is my LIFE here! I need to prioritise my own self care and MAKE time to train and eat right.

too tired. If I train in the morning I can get it out of the way while i’m fresh. And if i do some preparation and a cook up on the weekends, there’s no reason I can’t eat well during the week.

too lazy. Where did this one come from? I’ve always been told i’m lazy. So I believe it? How nuts is that!! I have been “not lazy” enough to get 3 degrees! If I can do that, then I can do this too.

can’t be bothered. What the …!! Can’t be bothered taking care of myself? If I were working with a client who said this to me I would wonder whether he or she felt unworthy of being cared for. I’ve known for a while that this is certainly the case for me. If I can be bothered working for and obtaining 3 degrees, and if i can be bothered taking care of other people, then i CAN ALSO BE BOTHERED taking care of myself!

I’m a procrastinator. I don’t remember who told me this originally. It just seemed to be a part of my life. It feeds into the last two (lazy and bothered) as well. I put everything off? This is an all or nothing statement that has no evidence to support it. There are quite a few things I DON’T procrastinate on (like TV viewing, facebooking and all that kinda stuff lol … even other things too). So, if I can avoid procrastinating on those things, then I can prioritise my own self care.

I’m afraid of failing. Another one where I’ve always been told that I can’t do anything. That I won’t be ABLE to do anything. And yet I have evidence to prove otherwise. I succeeded in getting 3 degrees. I succeeded in getting work and have made a name for myself within the organisation I work for. I am close to completing another step in my career goals. If I can do all that, then I can do THIS too. 

I’m afraid of succeeding. This one feeds back into the post about expectations. What will I be expected to do, to achieve, if (when) I have donated all my excess weight to the universe? As I said in that post, I know this is unfounded. I HAVE succeeded in a number of areas. And I know that when I get to my goal with this part of my self care, I will WANT to do more. To BE more. 

I have to work. I don’t have time to train because I need to work. TOTAL BULL! If I plan it and JFDI, then I CAN make it happen. It’s about priorities. It’s about how much I believe I deserve to do this for me.

I can’t do it, it’s too hard. Again, total BS!! I’ve done it before. Donated 60kg! Totally unfounded. Again it comes down to the belief of me deserving the good things in life. 

I am physically unable to exercise, I’m too big. Who knew that one was there?!?! I’ve done it before. In 2005 I donated 60kg to the universe, and I did it by doing a LOT of exercise. There may be some things I can’t do, but there is a LOT that I can.

This is all I can think of right now, but if I think of anything else, I’ll add it later.

Thanks for listening/reading 🙂

One comment on “Excuses …

  1. Great list of excuses you have there. It’s funny how so many of us have the same sort of excuses, there are definitely a lot of procrastinators in the world aren’t there!

    I think you’ll kick arse, and I’ll be here to watch and support you 🙂

    (p.s. I love that you “donate” your kg’s to the universe, that’s so cool. Love it)

Leave a Reply

