Why am I here?

I had a random thought just pop into my head. Why AM I here? On this earth I mean. What is my purpose?

An interesting question to ponder, don’t you think? So many possible answers.

In the process of developing my career I have discovered that my current profession is definitely where I am meant to be. I get a lot of fulfillment out of helping others to work through their “stuff”. And I am good at it. The feedback I get from clients has been nothing other than positive.  And I have learned so much about myself that given the chance to do things over, I would NOT do anything different. I wouldn’t be where I am today had I not been through the lessons I’ve been through.

So, career wise, I believe I have found my purpose.

So what about personally? My life has not exactly been an easy one.  A lot easier than some, I have no doubt. But still, it hasn’t been without challenges. A pathway that has been hovering in my mind for a while is the possibility of using the life lessons I am learning about self care and helping others with their own journeys. Kind of like Adro and some of the other TBL contestants. Adro has begun his own retreat style clinic to help people over a certain weight and from all accounts is having some pretty phenomenal success. You never know, I might end up joining his “hand picked” team as their psychologist! That would be cool. But the idea of having my own wellness centre appeals to me. Particularly one that caters to teenagers as well as adults.

I’d love to work with teenagers. A colleague told me the other day that I should be working with this population because I have an insight and compassion into what they deal with. I was filled with all kinds of warm fuzzies when she said that! And working with teenagers with weight issues is very appealing to me. I have no doubt that I need a lot more training in this area to be able to do it properly, but I believe it could definitely be an option.

What do you guys think?

I just realised that I went back to talking about work and moved away from my “personal” purpose (go figure)! Learning lessons all the time 🙂

2 comments on “Why am I here?

  1. Hi There. I am also a psychologist and have also (gulp) signed up for the 12WBT. You can find me under “Neetsta” on the 12WBT website. Your posts are very poignant and inspiring. Hope to hear from you sometime – drop me an email if you have the time and/or inclination…

Leave a Reply

