Blogging Challenge …

Well, I have come across this blogging challenge from a thread on the 12wbt forums and thought I might like to join in. Once a week questions will be posted and we need to answer them on our own blogs. The 12wbt started this past Monday, February 13th. So, here is the week 1 challenge:

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.  What makes you, you? – I am regular kind of girl, a couple of months into my 40th year of life. I’m passionate about what I do professionally (help people overcome their difficulties) and absolutely love supporting others. I’m a very gentle soul and have a calm nature (people often say they feel calmer just being in my presence). I am a deep thinker and am very intelligent, witty and can help people to feel comfortable with ease.
  2. Why did you decide to do the 12WBT? – For as far back as I can remember, I have NEVER been a “normal” weight. I use ” ” deliberately, since there really is no such thing, but it IS a word most people are familiar with. The past several years have seen me make a number of changes in my life, amongst which has been “weight loss surgery” (again the use of the ” ” is deliberate). Following surgery I was able to donate 60kg to the universe, which then stalled as my health was no longer my complete focus. When I started working again I started using all my excuses (too tired, too busy, no time etc etc) and avoided doing all the things I knew I needed to be doing. In recent months I became dissatisfied that my health was as it was, and decided it needed more attention. But I didn’t DO anything about it until my sister invited me to join her in participating in the 12wbt.
  3. What are you hoping to achieve through the program? – I’ll tell you what I DON’T want, and that is to become obsessive about a “diet”. Diet’s do NOT work. For me this is a complete lifestyle change. This is about learning how to manage and balance intake V’s outtake. It’s about learning to LIVE in a way that supports the things I want to do with my life. It’s about gaining energy and fitness, the ability to move easier, to participate more fully, to be able to passionately participate in all things physical. Basically, to LIVE, rather than simply exist.
  4. Why have you decided to blog about the 12WBT? – Blogging is something that has appealed to me for a while now. And when I saw that a lot of the other participants were doing it, I decided that I would give it a go too.
  5. What will be the main focus (eg, food, exercise, a bit of everything?) – My focus here will be self care. I have a long history of not taking care of myself, in a lot of different areas, of which health is just one. I’ll post about achievements, failures, uncertainties, fears, panics, breakdowns, breakthroughs. Anything that I feel is helpful/instrumental for my own self care and self respect.
  6. How will you be exercising this round? Gym, home, outdoors or a mixture? – Mostly at home. I have a X-trainer, functional trainer (weight machine), incline bench, DVD’s, hand weights. I’ll be getting a fit ball very soon and that should set me up pretty well.
  7. What is your greatest strength that will help you? – My determination and the knowledge that I CAN do this. After all, I’ve done it before. Last time I donated 60kg. While the numbers on the scales are not a priority for me, they can be an indication of some success. Also, the knowledge I have about how the mind works and the previous work I have done in changing my mindset have, I believe, set me up to do this well.
  8. What are you afraid of? – Paradoxically, I am afraid of success. Yes, I know I can do this. But what will be expected of me when I do? I know this is my mind playing tricks on me to keep the status quo, and I just need to DO IT anyway.
  9. What are you looking forward to the most over the next 12 weeks? – The changes in my mindset and ability to do things physically. Greater fitness. More stamina. Less lower back pain. Ability to stand on my feet for longer periods. Stuff like that.
  10. What is your downfall? Food? Exercise? How will you overcome this? – Food probably. I am addicted to sugar (and probably fat). I won’t keep the trigger foods in the house, and I need to get myself organised and pre-prepare meals so I can “grab and go”. I know my tendencies to wake up late and then have to rush through getting ready, leaving no time for breakfast. I also know that when I get home from work I am rarely in the mood to cook, and those are the times I tend to want the takeaway. So, it’s really important that I am prepared.
  11. If you had to pick one word to motivate you over the next 12 weeks, what would you choose? – I need to think about this one. I’m not sure I have one particular word. What motivates me most is seeing and feeling the support from those around me. I tend to thrive on positive energy. So I need to surround myself with like-minded people.

Ali

Leave a Reply

