Self imposed lmitations

I’ve been thinking quite a bit today about the limits that we put on ourselves on a regular basis.

I did some training on my x-trainer today, and before I got on I was determined to do at least 20 minutes (previous record recently has been 12 min 30 sec) of high intensity, with 6 intervals. I did a 5 minute warmup, first 30 second interval, 1 min 30 sec lower intensity (during which I had several fleeting thoughts of “I can’t do this”, with several variations). Told myself I COULD do it, so did a second 30 sec interval, and then my mind went nuts and I caved, stepped off the machine. Had my heart rate close to 156bpm too! I sat down for a few minutes and paused my HRM, waited until it slowed down to about 90, then got back on. HR went right back up to the mid 140’s. Did another 3 intervals, pushing HR to the 160’s, then gave it away. Total 17 minutes 13 seconds, with 5 intervals. Ave HR 142, max HR 162, calories burned, 217. Time in fat burning zone, 3 min 15 sec, time in fitness zone, 13 min 58 sec. Several minutes better than my previous sessions, but not what I had planned in my head.

Given that I had planned at least 20 minutes in the one session, what made me give up before I had achieved what I wanted?

My mind. Seriously. I consciously recognised several unhelpful thoughts as they ran through. “I’m gonna die”, “this is too hard”, “I can’t breathe”, “I need a rest”, “I need to catch my breath”

I had great plans (before workout) to come here and post about how I had beaten my mind, pushed myself and accomplished a GREAT workout. And yet here I sit, acknowledging that this time, my head won the battle to keep me comfortable. 

The thing is, I KNOW that I am capable of a lot more than I am achieving at this point. Considering that my resting HR is usually in the mid to high 60’s, isn’t that an indication of the health of my heart? I know I can do more. I have yet to do any strength training. My mind keeps telling me that it’ll be a pain in the butt to swap and change all the connections, that my HR will go down too low and my body will cool down by the time I figure out what I need to do next. And yet I know that without taking the time to figure it out, I’m not going to get any quicker at it. Go figure.

I need to make this happen. I WILL win this. I WILL get this done. And I WILL smash the 500cal burn per session. 🙂

3 comments on “Self imposed lmitations

  1. You’ve gotta be happy with the wins, and to me, getting back on the trainer was a win.
    You’re doing great Alison, and you sound like you’re in the right headspace. Keep it up mate!
    Oh, and a resting heart rate of 60(ish) is pretty good!

  2. You are winning already Ally. Keep on trying.. give the 20 minutes another go tomorrow and if you don’t make it try to equal or beat your last sessions times. You can never fail as long as you keep trying:)

Leave a Reply

