My 12WBT journey to date

I haven’t been around for a few months to update this blog due to computer issues, which have been incredibly frustrating.

That said, the issues have been sorted and I am back!

We are into the second week of round 2 of the 12WBT and things are going really well! Since January I have donated 20kg to the universe and at the end of round 1 I went to Melbourne to attend the finale event. A hug from Margie (The biggest Loser), a “how are you going?” and some other encouragement from Michelle Bridges, a 914 calorie burn from the world record workout, many meetings with other awesome 12WBTers, lots of fun, a very long road trip and some not so great food choices along the road, I feel like there has been a pretty big change in my mindset.

A few days after I got home in late May, something seems to have shifted in my head. I have consistently been making healthy choices, with both nutrition and training. I have been cooking and exercising regularly, with decent calorie burns. I have decided to get myself a Personal Trainer and we have had 2 sessions so far. I’ve done 4 training sessions in the past 6 days, which has been a record for me since I began this journey in January.

After coming home with an extra 6+ kg, in the time since then (May 23), I have donated a massive 11+kg. About half of that was the “extra” I brought home from Melbourne, and the rest has been a continuation of my journey. Round 2 of the program began June 4th and I have donated 2.5kg since then, with the next weigh in scheduled for 4 days away.

In the meantime, this week’s weekly surprise was to create an inspiration board. Something which shows those things that inspire us to reach our goals. InspirationAngelbabee1971

So, something has shifted in my head. I am somehow more determined than ever to get to where I want to be. I have not had any real desire to eat potato chips or chocolate, and I have learned a lot about how my body responds to even small amounts of sodium. I have taken steps to counteract those effects and am avoiding the foods that contribute, even in small quantities. While this has not always been easy, the results are definitely worth it! I am retaining much less fluid, and with a higher water intake, I believe this has contributed to the recent significant weight donations.

From the preseason task requiring us to write our goals, I have already met at least 3 of them, including working with a PT, attending an outdoor training session with some of our local 12wbters (second session today), and creating a vision board.

For this round I have set myself the goal of donating 20kg to the universe, 2.5 of which has already been made. I am feeling really positive about it and have seen some physical changes in my body even in the last 3-4 weeks.

It has also hit me how simple the process of this program really is. One day at a time, one healthy choice at a time. Not necessarily easy to make, but definitely a simple process.

Can’t wait to see the results of this week’s choices. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

