Link

The Climb, Myley Cyrus

Someone on the 30+ crew FB page posted a youtube video of Myley Cyrus’ song, The Climb. From the moment I first heard that song I have loved it. I love the melody, and the message. But until today I haven’t REALLY “gotten it”. After seeing the link this morning and some of the words that one of the girls typed underneath it, I decided to really listen to it and reflect on it. Here are the lyrics:

“The Climb”

I can almost see it.
That dream I’m dreaming, but
There’s a voice inside my head saying
You’ll never reach it
Every step I’m takin’
Every move I make
Feels lost with no direction,
My faith is shakin’
But I gotta keep tryin’
Gotta keep my head held highThere’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climbThe struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down, but
No I’m not breaking
I may not know it, but
These are the moments that
I’m gonna remember most
I’ve just gotta keep goin’, and
I gotta be strong
Just keep pushing on, cause

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

Keep on movin’
Keep climbin’
Keep the faith baby
It’s all about, it’s all about
The climb
Keep the faith, keep your faith, woah

As with most songs, the chorus is what grabbed me first. It’s about the journey, not the destination. This morning I really listened to the versus for the first time. And it hit me. Everything that I teach to my clients. Everything that I have been telling other members of the 30+ crew. There will always be voices in your head telling you that you won’t be able to reach your dreams, that you can’t do it, that you aren’t worth it. And it’s about having faith that those voices aren’t telling the truth. Faith that you CAN do it. You CAN make your dreams a reality. And while there will always be obstacles, when you overcome them, work through them and make them work FOR you rather than against you, these obstacles are what make the journey worthwhile. You will remember them as empowering lessons  that really teach you how much strength, courage, determination and smarts you DO have, and how capable you really are. They become a symbol and a talisman of sorts, that tells you how much you are really worth. These lessons help you to define yourself and your esteem. They help you to acknowledge your abilities and accomplishments.
So, with the sounds of this song in my head, today I pick myself up, acknowledge that while the current issues I am dealing with may be tough, I can and WILL get through them. They are an opportunity to acknowledge my strength and determination, and to learn more about boundaries, both professionally and personally. They are the chance for a new beginning, a new era in my professional life, to learn more about myself, to move on to bigger and better things. They WILL ultimately support me in achieving my dreams. They WILL allow me to live an extraordinarily spectacular and fulfilling life. They will allow me to live the life I DESERVE!
Today, I begin this new chapter by preparing and setting myself up for success with my health habits, thereby supporting me professionally. So, with the strains of Myley in my head, I set about cleaning my kitchen, shopping, cooking and freezing meals to keep me going for the next few weeks. So I don’t have to think about meal prep and can relax into dealing with the changes.
Keep the faith, Ali, it’s about the climb 🙂
(The link at the top of the page will take  you to youtube to listen to the song)
Leave a Reply

