Going Back to Basics

*sigh*

I have been thinking about and procrastinating on this post for 3 days now (big surprise) …

I have now completed 2 rounds of the 12 Week Body Transformation by Michelle Bridges. I have met many wonderful women. I have cried, laughed, been depressed, hidden myself away, celebrated, supported, been supported and had my ass kicked. Several times over. It has certainly been a bit of a roller coaster!

I have done a lot of things in the last 6 months that I would never have even considered before joining this program. I now do personal training sessions weekly, I attend outdoor group workouts, I have trained with Shannan Ponton and Emazon. I have climbed some of the 1000 steps in Victoria. I have learned much more about how my body works and what holds it back from functioning at capacity. Many of these have been the subject of previous blog posts, so If you haven’t read them, please take a tour of the last several months 🙂

The one thing I haven’t done is to follow the nutrition and training plans to a T. I have made some of the recipes but have mostly done my own thing. I have looked at the training plans and have done bits and pieces of them, but again, have mostly done my own thing. My trainer has been really good and has set me up well with things that work for me. She pushes me a little beyond what I think is my capability every time we train, and having that scheduled in weekly is very helpful in getting me to commit to the sessions. Likewise, having the Saturday sessions scheduled has been helpful in getting my butt out the door to train. Other times during the week I have not been as successful. And the last couple of weeks my bad habits with food have been creeping back in. Allowing myself to snack at work, get takeaway and buy unhealthy foods and consume them mindlessly. And I am noticing the difference in my training too. My last couple of sessions have been horrible in terms of my energy levels and fatigue. 

After discussions with some other girls on the program I have decided that I need to take back control and get back to the basic premise that this program stands for. I have traditionally been a person who never really follows through on things. I get so far and then back off, allowing old stuff to sneak in. 

No more, enough is enough!!

I have decided that I WILL commit myself to the basics of the program. I will:

  • Follow the nutrition plans
  • Do 5-6 training sessions per week, which includes one PT session and one SSS
  • Push my boundaries in training to discover and explore the limits my mind has imposed on my body
  • Shop and do a large cook-up either weekly or fortnightly, which will ensure there is always a healthy meal available on the days I am tired after work
  • Give myself a weekly reward for sticking to the program
  • Seek support on the occasions I feel like I am slipping
  • Celebrate my successes with the small, everyday tasks of eating clean and training
  • Blog at least 3 times per week, reporting on progress and celebrations
  • Record both nutrition and exercise on a daily basis using Myfitnesspal

As frightening and confronting as this is, I make this commitment not only to my fellow 12WBT 30+ crew and Michelle Bridges, but to myself. Because I DESERVE to nurture myself. Nutrition and training are, I believe, the ultimate way to nurture the mind, body and soul.

🙂

Leave a Reply

