Round 3 Inspiration board

The week 2 weekly surprise was to create a board of all the things that inspired you to get fit and healthy. So why did I join the 12WBT and what keeps me going.

I’ve chosen to do something a little different to the usual inspiration board. While I was at work the other day I had occasion to complete a mandala, which is a visual representation of what is happening for you in any given moment. Mandala’s come from the American Indian culture and are traditionally a circular shape, but these days they can be pretty much anything you want them to be. I started colouring in seemingly random colours, and as the pattern progressed I had all kinds of thoughts jump into my head about what the colours and shapes meant for me. So, this is a photo of my mandala. A description of its meaning follows. The people who really know me will know what this is all about.

Image

The edges:

The edges represent several possibilities of how our lives “travel”. Sometimes everything is running smoothly (straight edge at the bottom), other times it seems to follow a relatively even cycle of ups and downs (the smooth-ish waves on the left). Sometimes life seems so unpredictable and can be overwhelming (the jagged zigzags at the top). And then there are other times when it seems that things are going smoothly, but just underneath the surface the edges are deceptively rough and torn (the left side of the page), and the roughness can prove challenging.

The masks:

The shapes inside the circles in each corner represent some of the masks that we wear throughout our lives, or the crap that is thrown our way. Some of these could be happy masks (the tulip looking flowers in the more pastel colours), or they could be less happy, or even downright dark (the alien looking symbols immediately inside the tulips). These can wear us down and create a life of unhappiness and despondency. Immediately surrounding the alien looking symbols is a narrow black circle, which represents the dark days in our lives. Those hollow days where nothing ever seems to go right.

No matter which type, these help define who we think we are.

Interconnections:

The green leaves are pathways that connect everything that we do, think, hear, see and feel. They help us to connect the events in our lives, the people we encounter, the family we have, and how we react.

Red woman:

No matter what happens to us in life, no matter what we are given, no matter the masks we wear, and no matter the connections and interpretations we make, our inner core is always there. This woman is always watching, always waiting for us to truly understand our purpose. She can always be relied upon to let us know when things aren’t going the way they are meant to. She can always be depended upon to keep us upright and supported. She will always look after us and ensure that we come out of any challenges stronger. She is permanent, never wavers and is a fiery core to be reckoned with if we are threatened (even if it is our masks that create the threat). This is why she is red. She is fire. She is our red woman. She is our authentic self. And she will ALWAYS take care of us, no matter what else is happening for us.

You will notice (if you look closely) that the pen strokes are all pointing inward to the centre, which is the direction we are meant to look going forward.

Endless possibilities:

At the very centre is a small blank space, which represents somewhat of a blank canvas in our life. This is the opportunities that we have, the endless possibilities and the chance for our red woman to create the life we truly deserve. It is closely placed with the connections in our lives to ensure that we are able to make some sense out of them, and while the lines are a little uneven (hard to see in the picture), our red woman will always support us in knowing what is right for us.

 

This picture is essentially about my ability to trust in my authentic self. To allow the real me to come forward and stand up for the life I truly deserve. The 12WBT for me is about creating the life I deserve. My entire life to date has (seemingly) concentrated on the masks. Those things that have fed my weight issues and the insecurities that have caused them. I have discovered in the last 2 rounds that I need to trust in myself more. That I am capable of and deserve so much more than I currently have. This mandala is telling me that my red woman always knows what is right for me. All I need to do is TRUST and LISTEN to her, and the weight will take care of itself. In fact, every area of my life will take care of itself.

Round 3 for me is about going back to basics. To trust, listen, and follow the plan that is meant for me 🙂

4 comments on “Round 3 Inspiration board

  1. bloody beautiful hun. I can hear you reading that to me and im nodding in agreement.
    back to basics is the key for us this round 🙂 life is easier that way
    xxxx

  2. OHHHH MY LORD… Alison I was bleary eyed enough at this time of day and now I am in tears…. that is beautiful and strong and inspiring, copy and print and put in places of doubt (ie the fridge door) to remind yourself. And hang in there, you are so far down the track its amazing!!!! Bigg huggs and prayers

  3. Wow Ali..awesome work and really thoughtful and real..so many changes i see in your posts and blogs..wow wow wow..hard to say words and there’s even a tear of happiness for you and all of us for the beautiful people that Emma has allowed us to see in ourselves..amazing stuff..and we had this special person in us all this time..i guess better to know her now than never know her..sooo happy for you..xoxoxo..Never neglect her again..

Leave a Reply

