New Beginnings

Well, it’s been two days since I did my last blog post about sliding backward. I have come to realise that I do indeed allow my intelligence to interfere with my ACTIONS. All the stuff I know about psychology and how the brain works has me analysing everything (and of course I’ve never been accused of that before – NOT! LOL). I need to let go of some of the inclination to overthink it and simply allow things to be there. Acceptance instead of searching around for “reasons why”. Acceptance instead of trying to figure out how to “fix things”. 

Given that I teach this stuff to my clients, you’d think I “should” be able to do it for myself, right? No such luck i’m afraid (go figure lol). I am beginning to think that my ability to teach others about this means that I put extra pressure on myself to “get it right”. That said, I also know that the more pressure I put on myself, the less likely I am to do exactly that. Amazing how that works, huh?

So, in looking at how I let go of the need to analyse the stuff in my head, the last two days I have been playing the JFDI card. Taking action instead of thinking about it. Before my brain has a chance to kick into gear. While I haven’t been perfect at doing that, I have been determined to stick to the commitment I made in my last post. 

So on day 2 of this week’s commitment, I have:

  • Completed 2 training sessions
  • Eaten completely clean for 2 days
  • Drunk 3.5 to 4 litres for 2 days

In these two days I feel like I have accomplished what I set out to do when I made my initial commitment, 5 weeks ago, to get back to basics. I have taken action on what I set out to do, and my head feels better for having done it. Of course, with all the extra water I’ve also been running to the loo every 5 minutes (well, 15-20 minutes maybe lol), but we can’t have everything we want all the time, right? 

These past two days I have also (with all the extra rushing to the loo) been feeling some of this extra fluid moving, so I am hopeful that tomorrow’s weigh in will show the difference, despite the over indulging on junk over the weekend. Only tomorrow will tell 🙂

I do feel that I have gone some way toward accepting those thoughts and stopping the over analysis. I would like to consolidate this learning and really get it cemented deep down. One day, one step at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

