Red flag & anniversary combination event

This coming Sunday we have an important, annual event for work that I am assisting with. It’s a service where our clients can remember family and friends who have passed away. People that they have not had a real chance to grieve for due to the demands of what they do in their daily lives, caring for loved ones with illnesses and/or disabilities. We will be lighting candles, thinking about special memories, reflecting, acknowledging, grieving. At the end we will be releasing balloons in honour. It’s going to be a beautiful opportunity to remember ๐Ÿ™‚

My friend texted me to let me know she would be thinking about me on the day. The text triggered a memory. This Sunday is October 14th. This Sunday is the 10th anniversary of my mother’s death in a car accident in the United States of America while she was on her trip of a lifetime holiday. This will be the third year that we have held this annual event. And THIS year, the 10th anniversary of my mum’s death, it falls on the same day. Coincidence? … I doubt it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m not sure how I feel about it at this stage, given that I have only just this second recalled the link between the two. I will be at this work function in a professional capacity, to support people in my role as counsellor. It would be inappropriate and unethical of me to openly be there to remember my mum. However, I can quietly keep her in my mind and reflect on my memories of her.ย 

Leave a Reply

