Fluid levels and more spinny stuff

Fluid. My body has been holding onto a whole heap of it! I’ve talked about the lymphoedema before and how it likes to hold on to the fluid sometimes for weeks at a time. I have also talked about the headspins I have been experiencing for the last 16 or 17 weeks straight. Part of the treatment my doctor recommended for them was to take fluid tablets for 2 weeks before going back to see him.

Due to scheduling difficulties it was 3 weeks before I got back. I took the tablets for 2 of those weeks and in that time the scales told me that I had dropped 10kg. Since I have stopped taking them that has all returned, plus more (go figure). My body has been holding this extra fluid now for about 3 weeks. I am sure that part of this will be my normal monthly cycle, but nevertheless, it is a little annoying.

There is a part of me wondering whether the fluid tablets have in some way messed up the balance of things in my body, because my cycle is late. As much as I know speculation is useless, I wonder how my body would have reacted if I hadn’t taken them. That said, had I not taken them, it is certainly possible that I would still be spinny all the time.

For the most part, they have stopped. My doctor said that I didn’t need to be referred to an ENT and we could treat “symptomatically” whenever the spins appear. In other words, take fluid tablets until they disappear. I wonder how that would impact if I did it every time. *sigh*

I think I need to get back to my kineisiologist and acupuncturist. 

Leave a Reply

