Remembering …

In amongst all the chaos with working on final university assessments for the first semester of my masters degree, I realise that today is my mum’s birthday. It would have been her 66th year of life and I am feeling a little melancholy.

This woman gave birth to me, nurtured me, comforted me, nursed me, disciplined me, educated me, and taught me to be who I am today. When she died in 2002 I was going through a difficult time with some serious stress where I worked at the time. I was about 3 days into a period of stress leave when I received a call from my brother to tell me the news. Within the space of about 5 seconds I got some perspective in a big way. I very quickly figured out what was important.

I was honoured to be able to write and deliver her eulogy, remembering her in the way she deserved to be remembered. When she died she was doing something that she had wanted to do. Travel across the world and live her dream. She was strong and brave. She was determined and tenacious. She loved freely. And at the time I remember making a very clear and conscious decision to follow her example and live MY dream. As a direct result of this I began studying my psychology degree.

So, I can honestly say that I would not be where I am today without her influence in my life.

This was one of her favourite songs. When she travelled she would play it every time she pulled out of one place to head to the next on her way around Australia. “On the road again” … We played it at her funeral, when we buried her with Dad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TD_pSeNelU

Happy Birthday Mum!

🙂

2 comments on “Remembering …

Leave a Reply

