Lessons

I’m not really sure what I want to write today so I am going to see what my fingers come out with and go from there.

At the beginning of June I took in one of my former foster children and his fiancée, both of whom have now aged out of the system and are allegedly adults (18 & 19). The aim was to teach them the skills necessary to live independently, make adult decisions, take responsibility for actions, and so forth. Three weeks down the track and I am over the crap. This past weekend I was asked to rescue them when they took an action without first planning ahead, by travelling more than an hour away and then not having a way home. I refused, telling them that they needed to figure it out for themselves because that is what adults do (this is something they have done 3 times to me before and they weren’t in any kind of danger). I sourced bus timetable and costings and asked if they wanted to book it. They declined, telling me not to worry about it. Since my refusal 5 days ago I have not seen or heard from them. Yesterday I received a message from another person saying that they had been notified that they were no longer residing in my home. Who knew?

This is after I had spent 3 weeks providing emotional and practical supports, starting the process of bringing in organisations that could teach them practical skills that would put them on the road to independence and self-sufficiency. So, I am now left with a house full of their stuff that is strewn all over the place, including bikes, TV, clothes, lamp, bedding, journals, books and so on. Laundry, lounge, dining area, 2 bedrooms, bathroom all full of stuff. Not to mention the kitchen full of dirty dishes and the lino floor covered in sticky mess. And of course a fridge and cupboard full of food bought for 3 people and only 1 left to eat it. That is also not including the money for living expenses that have yet to be given to me.

So, what have I learned from this? The last time this kind of thing happened to me I decided then and there that I would never allow myself to be treated with such disrespect. EVER. I told them this before they moved in. And I told them why. I feel like I have been used, abused and violated. Clearly my authentic self needs me to hear a message. I’m not entirely sure what it is yet. I have allowed myself recently (not just because of the events I have described here) to slack off with my self-care practices.

I have stopped kiniesiology and acupuncture appointments, haven’t done any training and have been eating a heap of processed food. The Emazon convention in April sent my head into turmoil and since then I have had lots of trouble with uni assessments, which has also sent me into a spin. I have allowed excuses (I need to get assessments done, can’t spare the time to cook or go to the gym) to get in the way. Since the end of the semester I have been concentrating on work and supporting the people in my home (other than me, clearly). Now that this has happened, I need to figure out how to get myself back to where I was earlier in the year.

I’m open to suggestions, cause I am feeling confused.

Actually, I’m pretty sure I know what I need to do. I need to take ACTION. Clean my house. Get rid of all the crap. Spend some time nurturing myself. Prepare healthy foods. Get back to the gym, do some PT. Do the stuff that I know will help lift me up.

It starts right now. 🙂

And Friday morning, 6am, with a complimentary PT session at my gym.

Leave a Reply

